Author Topic: Really ready for reelin'. Bait casting reels for lakers question.  (Read 2516 times)

Offline WYIfish

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Ice fishing a sport, or just reason to buy stuff?
Dear List;
I have a dozen Okuma Centrific spinning reels I use year round. In winter they tend to make a rats nest with the mono line I use.  I will continue to use it and not the fluro carbon for a few reasons.

I would like to get a nice relatively inexpensive bait reel for jigging up lakers.  Being new to bait casting reels, well  had a $5 one when I was a kid, I would like advice.

Star drag, lots of ball bearings, and a line counter that counts feet. Anything else I need to know to shop around and does anyone wish to name drop a good reel?   I would like something in the $50-80 range, since I am a beginner.  Any luck there?   I will be fishing for 10-30 pound fish and in water from 50-150 feet of water.  I don't need a reel that's state of the art high dollar until I decide if I like it or not with the bait caster.  I can see the advantages but could use some pointers on selecting the size and price range that will make me a believer.
Thanks in advance. Oh, I do have a fleabay account so shopping there is an option.
Thread killer

Offline Phouvieng

• Team IceShanty Regular
Let me start by first saying that I've never fished for Lakers, so my post is coming from a completely different view.

Star drag, lots of ball bearings, and a line counter that counts feet.

The problem with this is that all casting reels have star drags and that the amount of ball bearings doesn't make a reel better or worse. A line counter could be bought separately, so while it would be nice to have on a reel; Don't let it limit you to what reel you choose.