Author Topic: how to catch a northern through the ice?  (Read 4644 times)

Offline chrisN

• Team IceShanty Regular
how to catch a northern through the ice?
« on: Nov 27, 2004, 10:55 PM »
i have never gone for pike through the ice before but i am hoping to get out this winter.  i will be using a tip up likely.  what would be the best bait to use and what size of hook.  line? depth? how deep should the bait be?
Team Manitoba

Offline reubenpa

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: how to catch a northern through the ice?
« Reply #1 on: Nov 28, 2004, 11:42 AM »
I am no expert but I will tell you what I learned last winter. 
First where are you from?  If near western NY go to Conesus Lake.  The pike there are in the shallows, which I think?? is normal.... sometimes deeper, but from 4-8 feet normally.  I met a guy who turned my thinking around!!!!!   If the pike are 10# average then used 10-25 lb line or so.. whatever you are comfy with smaller is better.  If course this would be a leader  off the main line. I used 15 line, might try 10# line this year for them. the man told me use mono not steel leaders.   Use a 14 treble hook, and a large minnow hooked in dorsal fin and put it right above the weeds.... try diff depths, but that seems to be the best at Conesus.  The fish will bite run stop swallow and run.  Wait until after the swallow and the line will be in the tooth free corner of the mouth and then pull it in. when you get it to the hole be careful, when it thrashes around let go the the line, the hook is in its belly so won't come out, and if its teeth touch that line it will be gone!!!!!   

Ask Tipup or the many others on here, but Tipup is the Northern king!!!!!!!

Offline Bob_D

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • www.Fishingvermont.net
« Reply #2 on: Nov 28, 2004, 12:19 PM »
Chris,
Here is a link to an article I wrote. Every place is a little different, but this should help you get started. Let me know if you have any questions.

Bob