Author Topic: tip up help!  (Read 374 times)

Offline seansean1444

• Team IceShanty Regular
tip up help!
« on: Jan 16, 2011, 08:00 PM »
i have never used tip ups before and was wondering what kinds you guys sugest. i was leaning twoards the ones that look like a big +  that unfold. also thinking more allong the lines of making some homemade slammers because they look very effective. these will be used for everything from panfish to lake trout. thanks and tight lines

Offline rbellamy68

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Bring on the ICE!!
Re: tip up help!
« Reply #1 on: Jan 16, 2011, 08:04 PM »
Frabil but try to find metal spools instead of plastic
Fish on!!

Offline pfscott

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Jan 16, 2011, 08:06 PM »
All I have ever used that I like are Beaver Dams. Not cheap, but will last a lifetime. That said, a buddy of mine uses the cheapest plastic ones he can find, and catches just as many fish.

Offline icefishman

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Jan 16, 2011, 08:15 PM »
I second the beaver dams!!
Catching Any?

Offline WARRIOR_ON_ICE

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Long Live the WARRIOR
« Reply #4 on: Jan 16, 2011, 08:40 PM »
i have never used tip ups before and was wondering what kinds you guys sugest. i was leaning twoards the ones that look like a big +  that unfold. also thinking more allong the lines of making some homemade slammers because they look very effective. these will be used for everything from panfish to lake trout. thanks and tight lines