Author Topic: Lake Superior Burbot  (Read 4789 times)

Offline tritz18

• IceShanty Rookie
Lake Superior Burbot
« on: Jan 04, 2018, 12:19 PM »
Hello my name is Thornton Ritz, I am a graduate student at Northern Michigan University. I am conducting a research project on burbot and am looking for some avid burbot anglers for some insights and help. This winter I am hoping to catch Lake Superior burbot and fertilize eggs to rear in our lab back at NMU. Our goal is to catch some burbot from Munising Bay/Sand Point area and if possible closer to Marquette (ice dependent). If anyone is interested in this research project, has any questions, or has any tips on catching them feel free to comment on this thread or email me directly at [email protected]. Thank you in advance!

Offline bigmike7272

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Lake Superior Burbot
« Reply #1 on: Jan 04, 2018, 04:43 PM »
Glowing rattle spoons tipped with a minnow head pound the bottom with it and hang on.

Tell me and I'll forget. Show me and I'll remember some of it. Involve me and I will have lifetime knowledge.

-Anomymous

Offline Teggs

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Jan 05, 2018, 12:06 PM »
We catch a lot by accident in the lower harbor they eat almost anything. I have never met anyone with a desire to try and catch a burbot let alone research them. Went out with a group once last year to target them for craps. prolly caught 20-30 nice ones, they fought pretty good. This was an inland lake though near republic. Middle of the night bite. We used small minnows on spoons and pounded sand. It was the worst fillet session i had had in my life, its like skinning a snake. Then when your done you get about 2oz of meat off of a 3lb fish. Sure was tasty though boiled and dipped in butter. Ugliest fish ever.

Offline DanaM

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 05, 2018, 01:55 PM »
I'm interested to know what the focus of the research is? What is your goal?

Offline tritz18

• IceShanty Rookie