Author Topic: Finding Walleye  (Read 2307 times)

Offline swirusek

• Team IceShanty Regular
Finding Walleye
« on: Feb 11, 2007, 01:30 PM »
Im new to walleye fishing and i woudl like to get some help
After reading a lot of posts here (lots of info) i know how to rig my tipups and what bait to use
What i dont know is how to locate the EYES
I will be on lake that i never fished before so i dont even know where to start
Here is the pic of the lake so any help woudl be very big plus
Thank You and sorry for big pic

Offline perch-man

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Born To FISH Forced To Work
Re: Finding Walleye
« Reply #1 on: Feb 11, 2007, 02:04 PM »
I would try at the north end by your map you have a sharp drop off there start swallow working deeper to see at what level you trigger a strike . If it was at the 20 ft mark you have a island in center work that.On the south west side is apoint coming out you have struture plus again a quick drop off. Thats where i would start hope that helps. Is that a real lake?

Offline swirusek

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Feb 11, 2007, 05:06 PM »
Thank you perch-man and yes it is real lake

walleyechaser

« Reply #3 on: Feb 12, 2007, 02:03 PM »
wow what a nice lookin lake.  I would try that saddle between that island and shore for sure.

Then work around that island to the south.  Both saddles on the islands where the deeper water creates almost a channel between island and shore would be my first bet.  Any fish roaming from basin to basin has to pass through there.

Offline RLWagner

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Feb 12, 2007, 02:10 PM »
The north end has a nice wide out plain from 30-40 FOW, with a nice step-up to 20 and 10.
Also the 20' islands creat some nice funnels that WC mentioned, for sure.
The East Bay also has some nice 30 FOW and is a bit isolated. Nice lookin Lake. Are there any inlets? Looks like one at the North end, if so, I like that area even better.

flockshot