Author Topic: walleye experts???  (Read 4023 times)

Offline adipose

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • WHAT OTHERS THINK OF ME IS NONE OF MY BUSINESS
walleye experts???
« on: Mar 28, 2005, 10:50 PM »
i fish at a lk up here in canada that is 50 mi long.i know a biologist very well.he once told me of a test netting that they did.they caught and tagged a bunch of walleye.two days later and 40 miles down the lake,they netted the very same single tagged walleye.is this normal behavior for walleye to travel this far in a day or two??

Offline bigredonice

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • keep searchin' 'till ya find 'em.
Re: walleye experts???
« Reply #1 on: Mar 29, 2005, 10:26 AM »
im not an expert, but depending upon the time of year, it could be possible that the fish was either on a spawning movement, or was chasing forage.  That is some incredible movement for any fish though...almost unbelievable, but i guess its possible

Offline iceintheveins

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • If you won't fight for freedom, your not American!
« Reply #2 on: Mar 29, 2005, 03:59 PM »
Predators like walleyes are always going to be near the forage. In this case of pelagic forage, since the forage makes long migrations, the walleyes are going to as well.
But for walleyes to move that far, that is amazing.

Tyler
Politically incorrect, and proud of it.

Offline adipose

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Mar 31, 2005, 03:02 PM »