Author Topic: What size to build  (Read 1429 times)

Offline Snowed

• IceShanty Rookie
What size to build
« on: Dec 26, 2021, 06:35 AM »
Good morning folks.  I’m relatively new to this so please bare with me. I’m planning on building a permanent shack.  I’d like it to accommodate 3-4 people with no overnighters.  What size should it be? I was thinking either 6x8 or 6x10. Also what size framing should And spacing should I use for the walls and roof? I’m using 2x4 pt for the floor with advantech plywood.  I’d like to keep it as light as I can, realizing that the floor is going to be on the heavier side. Thank you for your help.

Offline Iceassin

• Team IceShantyholic
  • The secret to fishing...fish where the fish are.
Re: What size to build
« Reply #1 on: Dec 26, 2021, 08:33 AM »
I built this several years ago as a "perma-porta" shack. It was 7'L X 7'H X 4'W. It would fish 3 but more comfortable with 2. Basically a frame of 2X2's. The floor was plywood split in half that would pull up into the end panels allowing shack to fold up accordion style for transport. When erected I used lengths conduit pipe between the panels to hold in place...2 along each side, 1 across the top. It was built strong enough to be a permanent shack but I never did. You could use ratchet straps across the shack and use ice anchors to secure to make permanent and still have the ability to make it portable. Obviously you'd have to make it bigger to put 4 guys in but you get the idea. Also added UHMW to the bottom of conduit skis. And believe it or not, when the shack was empty, I could leave it erect and tip it up on the skis and tow it wherever I wanted to go.  ;D

"Si quaeris peninsulam amoenam circumspice."

Offline river_scum

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • hook n cook
« Reply #2 on: Dec 26, 2021, 09:13 AM »