Author Topic: need help with night fishing  (Read 3340 times)

Offline wfdiv9pt135

• IceShanty Rookie
need help with night fishing
« on: Feb 18, 2014, 03:05 PM »
I've never fished at night for crappies.  Can anyone give me some pointers? What is lighting up the ice? And does the aqua vu lights help? Any information would be great

Offline big bobber

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • cant fish during the day...learn to fish at night
Re: need help with night fishing
« Reply #1 on: Feb 18, 2014, 04:40 PM »
no aqua veiw....flasher.lanter n in front of you to avoid shadows(the lantern is for you...not the fish)if the lake aint clear...dont fish at night...glow...glow... glow...plastics that flutter,minnows,waxies,nuggets...the more different baits/jigs you have the better...catch mine at night in 10-12 ft of water...crappie bite around the 5-8 ft range..light tackle...and be patient,night time is different. :)good luck..i have been doing this for a few years and am now starting to be quite successful...try what feels right and swith baits and presentations...what comes out at night is usually larger than daylight.
i just know they will bite if i stay another hour.

Offline wfdiv9pt135

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Feb 18, 2014, 04:50 PM »
Thanks.

Offline Glowjigger

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Feb 21, 2014, 11:31 PM »