Author Topic: Steel stud 1 5/8" ice wheel house build  (Read 2783 times)

Offline Firstbuild

• IceShanty Rookie
Steel stud 1 5/8" ice wheel house build
« on: Sep 30, 2018, 07:32 PM »
I am currently building a 8x12+4ft V. I am using 1 5/8" steel studs from menards. I am going to attach 4x10 aluminum .40 sheets right to the steel studs using 3m VHB tape. I will then have the walls and ceiling spray foamed(floor is already done). On the inside of the studs I will be using fur strips horizontally to help lock in the frame before paneling. Has anyone ever built one using this size stud, and if so were there any integrity issues with the frame flexing and twisting. This is my first build so any advice or comments would be great. Below is the build so far.

Offline jethro

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Steel stud 1 5/8" ice wheel house build
« Reply #1 on: Oct 01, 2018, 12:37 PM »
I've framed thousands of walls with 1-5/8" studs, but not on trailers. They are strong as can be once you screw drywall on them! I like your idea of strapping the walls but also make sure you "X" brace the walls corner to corner and might not be a bad idea to put corner plates (think big triangles) at all the corners. I would also do the same to the roof framing. Like I said, metal stud framing is super strong, but only once you put sheathing on it. The strapping can work as sheathing, but "X" bracing is super important.
Quote- fishslap: I use a variety:  whistlin' bungholes, spleen splitters, whisker biscuits, honkey lighters, hoosker doos, hoosker don'ts, cherry bombs, nipsy daisers, with or without the scooter stick, or one single whistlin' kitty chaser

Ice safety link: http://lakeice.squarespace.com/

Offline XN

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Oct 01, 2018, 12:40 PM »
The spray foam adds a ton of strength to the structure of the build. Not sure I would hang a bed from a sidewall but under normal use it should be fine. Please post up your final weight.

Offline Firstbuild