Author Topic: Rod for Lakers?  (Read 11010 times)

Offline nicjohnsrud

• Team IceShanty Regular
Rod for Lakers?
« on: Dec 10, 2014, 10:31 PM »
Hey everyone, I'm looking to buy an ice rod for lakers. Last year I went to Green Lake in WI with a friend of mine fishing for lake trout. I'm planning on going a few times this year with him and I hate borrowing gear. I was planning on using 10 lb fireline with a fluorocarbon leader on my summer spinning reel. Last year we fished in water 100' to 140'. Looking for a 36" or shorter rod because his shanty is pretty small, and looking to spend under $50. I was looking at the Clam Dave Genz split rod, but the Heavy rod is 40". Do I really need a heavy rod? I'm not super familiar with Green Lake, but I know he's hooked into some mosters up there. Being a panfisherman, I'm very new to anything over a pound, any help would be appreciated!

Last years takehome:

Offline river rat78

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Rod for Lakers?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 11, 2014, 08:27 AM »
This is my first time catching lakers through the ice and I can pretty much say you want a Heavy rod. Biggest one that I landed was over 10lbs and gave me a run for my money. Hooked into one that was probably around 15lbs or bigger and fought it for over 10 minutes before it got off at the hole. I would ask your friend since he has experience with lakers.

Offline gorf37

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 11, 2014, 02:18 PM »
My 2 cents:

Especially when dealing on the cheaper end of the price spectrum, heavy rods are terrible.  In my experience they are so stiff you may as well cut your rod out of a stick (I actually have a hockey stick that catches lakers quite effectively, but I digress…).