Author Topic: 20lb tank too much for single sunflower heater?  (Read 1902 times)

Offline thomasdgs

• IceShanty Rookie
20lb tank too much for single sunflower heater?
« on: Dec 20, 2015, 05:25 PM »
Hey all,

Is a 20lb LPG tank overkill for a single burner sunflower heater to be used on day trips? I will be using it to heat my 3 man HUB shelter, with temps around 5F to -15F degrees below freezing.

I am new to ice fishing this year, and pretty much a rookie when it comes to fishing in general. So you can expect a few "dumb" questions this winter.

Thanks,
David.
I am new to ice fishing this year, and pretty much a rookie when it comes to fishing in general. So you can expect a few "dumb" questions this winter.

Offline dstaples002

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: 20lb tank too much for single sunflower heater?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 20, 2015, 05:37 PM »
Depending on the btu rating of the sunflower heater you have will determine that. My personal experience is., no I would not use a 20# due to the weight and size. I would use a 10 or even a 5 is enough for the day. I would recommend a heater a bit bigger than what you have. Maybe the next size up buddy heater. With your average temperature around 0 as you stated, bigger heater is the way to go for those temps.

Now.....for the days it's 20 or so degrees, your sunflower should do the job just fine.

Hope this helps. :P

Offline dstaples002

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Dec 20, 2015, 05:39 PM »
And ps.......there are no dumb questions when it comes to fishing.

That's why we're all on this site to learn something new.

Also fill in your location. It helps alot.

Fish onn!!!!!!

Offline OldSailor

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • Take a kid fishing! Pay it forward!!
« Reply #3 on: Dec 20, 2015, 05:40 PM »
David, please update your profile with your location. Thanks in advance!! Tight lines!!!! ;D
My two favorite college football teams are Ohio State and whoever's playing Michigan!!!