The ice fishing PA boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Tip up hits  (Read 1298 times)

Offline keithrduck

• IceShanty Rookie
Tip up hits
« on: Jan 24, 2019, 06:17 PM »
When you get a hit on a tip up with a large shinner on, how long do you wait to set the hook?

Offline Eddie Spaghetti

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Tip up hits
« Reply #1 on: Jan 24, 2019, 06:24 PM »
I'm no expert... But, (I use Beaver Dam Tip-ups)  :tipup:  I watch the "t top" spin, if it's going pretty good, I slowly give it extra line, and then pull the tip-up out of the hole. You need a little extra line so you don't "bump" the fish. I'll try then to take up a little slack, and hopefully feel the tug on the other end of the line. If I do, I give it a yank. If not, I may jig the line up and down a little to see if that seals the deal.  It's basically the same drill for the x-style tip-ups.

Offline 1MOFISH

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • The ice is always safe are you in ???????????????
« Reply #2 on: Jan 24, 2019, 07:45 PM »
I'm no expert... But, (I use Beaver Dam Tip-ups)  :tipup:  I watch the "t top" spin, if it's going pretty good, I slowly give it extra line, and then pull the tip-up out of the hole. You need a little extra line so you don't "bump" the fish. I'll try then to take up a little slack, and hopefully feel the tug on the other end of the line. If I do, I give it a yank. If not, I may jig the line up and down a little to see if that seals the deal.  It's basically the same drill for the x-style tip-ups.
i'm not an expert either,when we get a flag we run to tip up look to see if spool is spinning and if it is we yank the tipup otta da hole and cross their eyes with a solid hook set caveaut we use 125lb main line and 50 lb floro leaders no regular floro but leader material which is stronger.if the spool isnt spinning we finesse tipup otta da hole peel off the line and feel if a fish is on the line then its the above scenario hope you get em
GOD BLESS
mo