Author Topic: Ice Shack ideas  (Read 79039 times)

Offline snowman6902

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Ice Shack ideas
« on: Mar 03, 2009, 10:38 AM »
Hey Everyone. I'm new to this site. I'm just getting into ice fishing. Been going out this winter. I've taken my daughter(6years old) and she is excited about it as I am. I just picked up an old pop-up camper I want to convert into a portable ice shack. My plan is to cut out the canvas and use the base and maybe "knee-walls" if i can and build up from there. I'm gonna clean the inside and try to keep the interior stuff(cabinets, table) if i can. Just to make it more comfortable. Anyone have thoughts? How should I build the walls? Any special tricks or tips anyone has figured out over the years? Things that they have learned from building their own that made them that much more handy? Also, heat was something I was trying to figure out. I don't think I have room for a woodstove. But, it does have the propane tank setup on the front of the trailer. Thinking maybe hook something up inside? Thanks

Offline mainedukblaster

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • THE CAMP!!
Re: Ice Shack ideas
« Reply #1 on: Mar 03, 2009, 10:45 AM »
Welcome,
If you can build off the knee walls build it with 2x2's or ripped down 2X4's and then use Luann plywood.  its a good Idea...  I would then mount some corner jacks, (if it doesn't already have it to block the wheels off the ice, even remove the wheels if you are going to use it as a permanent out there.  That way someone just doesn't come over with a wheeler and haul it off..  the key is to distribute teh weight when you block it up, this can be accomplish by laying a 2X6 or a 2X8 the entire length on each side and block up on each end of it..  this limits the amount it sinks in the ice completely on those warm sunny days, as well as provides more stability IMHO..  We do it with our BIG red Camp, but that was out of trial and error out of a few seasons.. Good luck
keep us posted with Pics..