Author Topic: Finding Fish  (Read 1447 times)

Offline DaWakoKid

• IceShanty Rookie
Finding Fish
« on: Jan 16, 2017, 11:47 AM »
I'm relatively new to ice fishing. Have been out a handful of times over the past few seasons and have had varying results. My first trip produced one fish through the ice. However, on that same trip, my buddies and I fished a cove with open water making casts with our ice poles and ended up catching close to 100 fish over about an hour. Other trips have been far less successful.

Anyway, my question for all your experienced guys is this: how do I find fish through the ice? I know the lake like the back of my hand. From spring through fall, I can locate fish in a heartbeat. Bass, bluegills, crappie. The ice has been a challenge, though. What areas should I target? Our lake is about 10 acres, has a deep trench (over 30 fow), weeds in water between 8 and 15 feet, sandbars, a couple fallen trees, and a cove that is about 10-12 feet deep. I've drilled holes all over the lake, but can't seem to key in on any decent schools of fish.

Offline tbirdbassr

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • illinois
Re: Finding Fish
« Reply #1 on: Jan 16, 2017, 01:48 PM »
Concentrate on the weed edges. A flask will help you find the edges. Some days the will be on inside sometimes on outside. Just depends on the pressure. Sometimes they bury themselves in the weeds so deep you can't get to them.

Offline ElectricSlide19

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 16, 2017, 08:07 PM »