The ice fishing ME board is sponsored by:
Visit Dags visit derby website

Author Topic: Moosehead Derby  (Read 902 times)

Offline Huemorin

• Team IceShanty Regular
Moosehead Derby
« on: Jan 31, 2011, 09:19 AM »
Fished the derby on Saturday with some family members as we do every year.  We had a great day.  Between 5 of us we caught 13 Touge 3 brookies and 4 salmon.  My uncle ended up finishing 2nd in the derby and was first until about noon yesterday, his touge weighed in at 10.3 lbs.  Not a bad day when you can catch that many fish and be out there in just a sweatshirt. 

Offline snowman6902

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Moosehead Derby
« Reply #1 on: Jan 31, 2011, 09:43 AM »
My buddies and I were over by Spencer bay and it was wicked nice out. I was out in a sweatshirt most of the time

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #2 on: Jan 31, 2011, 10:00 AM »
should have joined us! in rockwood!
I am a Veteran Not a Terrorist!

Offline EASTGRANDEST

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Serious
« Reply #3 on: Jan 31, 2011, 10:40 AM »
Your uncle was in first untill 6 O'clock Saturday night. I was in the bait shop getting bait at 6PM on saturday, right before the bait shop closed, and in walked this guy with a FREEKIN' MONSTER Togue!! 36 or 37" 14.5 LBS!! I was talking with the guy who caught it, I asked him if this was his biggest togue, he said, "Nope, gotta 15 pounder on my wall at home". He said he was from Aroostook County.
I told him I wanted to shake his hand! What a fish man!! I snapped a couple pictures before he left.
,we call them junk fish!

Offline snowman6902

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Jan 31, 2011, 10:58 AM »
We had some snowmobile issues that slowed us down. We were gonna head over to see Team Maine when one of the sleds rear shock mount snapped. So we were down to one and using it go from camp to shack and trap lines. I never even got to see Kineo

Offline MEbearhunter

• Team IceShanty Addict