Author Topic: Crappie Jigs  (Read 9271 times)

Offline gillcommander

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • I DO NOT FEAR FISH !!!
Crappie Jigs
« on: Oct 20, 2010, 05:46 PM »
Hi everyone,

I am kind of new to ice fishing last year I got the bug real bad and mainly started out targeting blue gills and feel pretty confident in my setups for catching them. I am really interested in doing some crappie fishing this winter. I have talked to guys and feel like I have a good idea on which lakes to chase them on. I have a Vexilar Fl-8...what I really need to know is what type of jigs I need to consider to entice the little devils. I was hoping if you have an extra few minutes you could let me know your top 2-3 jigs and what you normally tip them with for catching them.  I am going to be stocking up on some jigs prior to the season so any help would be great.

I plan on jigging for them aggressively, or not so aggressive depending on the situation, and possible dead sticking with either a minnow, waxworm, or spike with a slip bobber. Thanks in advance!!

It's a fine line between fishing & sitting on the ice like an idiot

Offline bart

• Team IceShantyholic
  • I love you, Deb
Re: Crappie Jigs
« Reply #1 on: Oct 20, 2010, 06:05 PM »
CJ&S Diamond jig in red glow tipped with maggots or waxworms is my favorite. Gills too...

A little off-topic tip downs with small minnows are deadly.
"Many fish their entire lives without knowing that it is not fish they are after."-Henry David Thoreau
  Keep America Godly...

Offline blufloyd

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
« Reply #2 on: Oct 20, 2010, 06:20 PM »
Spoons.
I fish better with a lit cigar; some people fish better with talent. ~Nick Lyons, Bright Rivers, 1977

Offline Sinnian

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • PM me
« Reply #3 on: Oct 20, 2010, 08:03 PM »
For nighttime crappie bites I use this, either tipped with bait or not: