Author Topic: Garmin Striker 5 Ice Bundle Tips and Tricks  (Read 1129 times)

Offline crashed87

• IceShanty Rookie
Garmin Striker 5 Ice Bundle Tips and Tricks
« on: Jan 17, 2022, 09:48 AM »
I picked up my first sonar/flasher on a great deal from a local shop. I admit I have limited experience using a flasher, a friend had an old vexilar that he used only a few times when we were fishing together.

I understand the basics, I know how it works but I'm sure I could be doing a lot better with it. Does anyone have the Striker 5 ice bundle and have some advice on how to make it work great?

Thanks!
Clear ice, tight lines, can’t lose

Offline bootstrap

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Garmin Striker 5 Ice Bundle Tips and Tricks
« Reply #1 on: Jan 17, 2022, 10:02 AM »
i have the 4 guessing it is similar. A scope mode is what i like best. you have to play with it for a while to get the colors and setting you like best. dont use the ducer out of water.

Offline remyjames23

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Jan 17, 2022, 01:13 PM »
I have this exact bundle. My main tips are to use A Scope mode on the traditional sonar setting, scroll speed fast, make sure you have the correct transducer selected in the system. Also the Auto Gain can be kind of annoying and seems to vary when it shouldn't. Every time I set up on a spot or change lures, I manually adjust the gain so the lure is just barely visible, it seems to work so much better and helps with target separation etc. Last thing is that while I havent timed it, it seems like the blue color scheme uses less battery than the other since the screen is not lit as much. I haven't killed the battery on blue yet, fished with it on for 20 hours last weekend and still has some juice left.

Offline badger132

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Jan 17, 2022, 01:21 PM »