Author Topic: Slushy Saturday  (Read 1031 times)

Offline crashed87

• IceShanty Rookie
Slushy Saturday
« on: Jan 30, 2023, 10:17 AM »
I left the house at 6:30, grabbed a coffee and a donut and started driving north with a couple ideas of where to go. I decided to visit Norman and Ethel on the lake early Saturday morning. First catch of the day was the sun in my mirror. I’m not artsy fartsy, just thought it looked cool.

Got to pond with zero wind and light fluffy snow falling. On the ice I found 1-2” of crust, 3” of snow, 5”+ of slush, and 6-7” of ice. The walking and pulling a sled was less than ideal but it’s better than sitting on the couch. I decided right away that walking and jigging all day would be a pain in the ass. I drilled a hole, shoveled some snow and had my own mini pond all to myself. That was dumb.

I smartened up and drilled another hole and didn’t shovel any snow away. Set the jaw jacker and flipped on the Garmin. I’m still learning and playing with it, I love it. Plus watching the fish move around is entertaining. What can I say, I’m simple minded.

When I walked a bit to set a trap the jaw jacker popped and had a nice salmon that was cut at the hole. When the trap was set I had 2 yellows off it in about an hour and a laughably small mouth a little later on the jacker too. Then the sun came out for a bit, then the wind picked up, and then the clouds came back. I called it a day. Went home and cleaned the garage.
Happy to have a day even if it was a little slow. Two trap lakes by yourself can be boring. Call your mom, consider the plight of the environment, crochet, I don’t care. Keep yourself entertained somehow.

Clear ice, tight lines, can’t lose

Offline Roccus

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Slushy Saturday
« Reply #1 on: Jan 30, 2023, 10:41 AM »