The ice fishing ME board is sponsored by:
Visit Dags visit derby website

Author Topic: Fishing rules question  (Read 1993 times)

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
Fishing rules question
« on: Nov 16, 2007, 07:53 AM »
If the law allows you to bait for minnows during any open fishing season  If you drill a hole for your bait trap  use your favorite minnow bait(ol roy dog food)     and nearby drill your hole for fishing    is that chumming? baiting for targeted species   ect?   that isn't allowed??   might be more of a moral than a legal issue maybe??
I am a Veteran Not a Terrorist!

Offline rich81

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Fishing rules question
« Reply #1 on: Nov 16, 2007, 08:12 AM »
good question

Offline slt

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Nov 16, 2007, 08:17 AM »
Depends on the Warden and what kind of day he / she is having :unsure:
diagonally parked in a parallel universe

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #3 on: Nov 16, 2007, 08:47 AM »
presoak the dog food too for quicker results
 >:D

Offline Mainehazmt

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #4 on: Nov 16, 2007, 08:50 AM »
plus if you dont have to check it for 7 days and you have a permanet shack   hmmm     there is some possibilitys there   wish I was a tin knocker Id make one to fit  in a 6 - 8" hole

Offline scavengerj

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Warm hands, warm feet and tight lines!
« Reply #5 on: Nov 16, 2007, 09:02 AM »
I'd have to go with what slt said. To be safe, just be sure to place the trap a decent distance from where you are fishing.
DMS #525
AMSA #1102
OBPA
RFA #1053456E

Offline ifishhi

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #6 on: Nov 16, 2007, 09:51 AM »
i would say you'd be fine. your doing 2 different things, it doesn't say you have to have any distance between you and your trap