Author Topic: Last Ice period on Newfound Lake.  (Read 1063 times)

Offline TroutChas3r

• IceShanty Rookie
Last Ice period on Newfound Lake.
« on: Mar 03, 2014, 08:23 AM »
Hey everybody, I just have some questions regarding this last month on the ice. My buddy and I went out to newfound last weekend a finnally hooked up with some decent lake trout, we were running smelt on tip ups about 1-2 feet from the bottom in about 30-50 feet of water. We were also jigging 1/2 oz - 1 oz bucktail jigs tipped with sucker bouncing off the bottom. So I was just wondering if the techneques change at all fishing for lake trout in this last ice period or if they stay the same. Any other advice is would be great as well. Thanks for your time.

Offline jethro

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Last Ice period on Newfound Lake.
« Reply #1 on: Mar 03, 2014, 09:58 AM »
I am still learning myself but what I have been told is that later in the season the lakers trend a little shallower while chasing the smelt. Participating here so maybe I can benefit from the thread!
Quote- fishslap: I use a variety:  whistlin' bungholes, spleen splitters, whisker biscuits, honkey lighters, hoosker doos, hoosker don'ts, cherry bombs, nipsy daisers, with or without the scooter stick, or one single whistlin' kitty chaser

Ice safety link: http://lakeice.squarespace.com/

Offline TroutChas3r

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Mar 03, 2014, 10:36 AM »
Thanks for your input doctorgee!, hopefully some of the newfound veterans will help us out.

Offline JRFlatlander

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Mar 03, 2014, 10:45 AM »