Author Topic: Power Auger Oil.....  (Read 3391 times)

Offline piscesman

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Power Auger Oil.....
« on: Dec 10, 2014, 06:10 PM »
I have been using a power auger for about 9 years. Always used the Pennzoil blend with TCW-3. Last year I used Amsoil for 1st time. Auger ran great. Started very easy. Bought high test just before thick ice and treated. Question here is this. I recently sold our snowmobile since we really never use it anymore. I found a partially filled gal of synthetic high quality oil that is pourable to -70 degrees. Would this be the same as Amsoil??? I bought more Amsoil this year before I found the left over synthetic. Thanks for any help...............
      Kim :icefish: :icefish: :unsure: :unsure: :unsure: :unsure: :unsure: :unsure: :unsure:
"To have and to hold till death do us part" really refers to a man and his ICE FISHING EQUIPMENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline thomasthepikehunter

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Power Auger Oil.....
« Reply #1 on: Dec 10, 2014, 06:15 PM »
I don't really understand the question. Are you asking if another synthetic oil besides Amsoil would be acceptable to use? Pour point has little to do with the oils actual performance.
-Tom

Offline Idahogator

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Muckeltonian Society
« Reply #2 on: Dec 10, 2014, 06:25 PM »
Pour point has little to do with the oils actual performance.
Please excuse me, but au contraire, Sir !    >:(

You would be welcome to attend Amsoil University, held annually in Superior WI, the site of corporate headquarters.   ;)2 

Piscesman, would you kindly give us the product code, or weight classification of that oil or any other identification numbers or marks on the container ?  Thanks in advance.   ;)2

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Dec 10, 2014, 06:33 PM »
I am always willing to learn more, however, would you feel comfortable to give the OP a recommendation based on pour point?