New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: Looking for my first ice fish, and some advice.  (Read 676 times)

Offline Cpg39

• IceShanty Rookie
Looking for my first ice fish, and some advice.
« on: Feb 06, 2017, 05:29 PM »
Hello everyone,

This is my first time on this forum, and this weekend will be my first time trying to fish through the ice. I fish open water almost year round, and I've spent a decent amount of time on the ice, but I'm excited to combine the two.

First and foremost, I would greatly appreciate any advice on safety before I head out there. I'm not looking for this to be my last ice fishing trip!

I will be in eastern New York, near Rensselaer and willing to drive a couple hours if anyone knows of a great spot for me to fish. As much as I would love to pull up a laker in the adirondacks, I would be more than happy to pull up a couple of small perch on my first expedition into ice fishing. I think my main goals will be to not fall in and to catch something, so no fish, junk or trophy, is off limits.

Any tips on locations and techniques would be wonderful. Thanks very much in advance. Good luck out there everyone.

-Colin

Offline adkRoy

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
  • Beware of squirrels playing banjos
Re: Looking for my first ice fish, and some advice.
« Reply #1 on: Feb 06, 2017, 05:45 PM »
Welcome to Iceshanty. A couple more posts and you'll have access to our reports and conditions board where all Lake and ice information is posted. You should try graft on state park. Good starter lakes. Will you be using tip-ups, jigging, or doing both.?
New York State Ranger School Alumni 1994[

Offline fullThrottle

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Feb 06, 2017, 05:47 PM »