Author Topic: northern question  (Read 1355 times)

fishguts.

northern question
« on: Jan 26, 2004, 08:31 PM »
we been bickering now for about 3 decades about the placement of your minnow. we fish mainly in about 8 to 15 ft of water some say up only a few feet under the ice some say down by the bottom. ive always ran a couple of feet off the bottom. this is for northerns, using live skinhooked minnows. what do you fellas run for depth?:)

Offline fishboy899

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Regular
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
Re:northern question
« Reply #1 on: Jan 26, 2004, 08:38 PM »
I like to fish my bait about 1 to 3 ft off the bottom no matter what depth I'm in.  I stagger my tip ups to find exactly how far off the bottom they are then put all them at the same depth.

Offline billditrite

• Iceshanty Retired Mod
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • R.I.P. Bobberstop 6-14-1944 ~ 7-21-2010
« Reply #2 on: Jan 26, 2004, 08:40 PM »
fishguts im a rookie when it comes to pike but i have found lots of goodies on the northern pike forums

Offline mike692

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Hardwater Nut!
« Reply #3 on: Jan 26, 2004, 08:42 PM »
I have always been told to fish for northerns close to the bottom. I have always fished within 3-4 feet of the bottom with good success.

DipLip

« Reply #4 on: Jan 27, 2004, 11:42 AM »
Shallower the water, the closer to the bottom I fish. In water over 35' deep, I'll sometimes hang a bait upto 48" off the bottom. 6 to 18 inches seems to be a safe bet most days wherever you're fishing pike.

Offline 2 dogs

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Hardwater Nut!
« Reply #5 on: Jan 27, 2004, 12:36 PM »