Author Topic: New to Pike Fishing  (Read 999 times)

Offline keith411

• IceShanty Rookie
New to Pike Fishing
« on: Jan 18, 2015, 07:50 PM »
Hello everyone, I'm new to pike fishing and i was wondering if i could get tips on how i should approach this game fish. I went out once last year and i was fortunate to catch one in Bantam. It wasn't anything big but it was still fun to catch. i caught him in about 4 feet of water on a dead shiner. Im not looking for anyone's secret honey holes im just wondering if you can give me tips on how to target and catch them. Any advice would be very helpful. Im not looking for anything big. I just want to catch a few. Size doesn't matter to me.
Thank You!
Keith

Offline saxmatt

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: New to Pike Fishing
« Reply #1 on: Jan 18, 2015, 07:59 PM »
8-12" dead or live bait, heavy leader, big single hook, 1-12' of water, sit on the ice for a while and you'll get them.

Offline pikemanEd

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 19, 2015, 06:34 AM »
I like to set my baits half way down in the water if you look at a pike it's eyes are on top of its head so they are always looking up. Use big baits also like Matt said even the smallest of pike hit 10in+ baits
Go big or go home

Offline Pike Guy Matt

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Jan 19, 2015, 07:33 AM »
I prefer big live bait, suspended mid depth over a weed bed or some other type of structure. This time of year I find the 6-10' depth to be most productive but later in the season they will begin to move shallow, getting ready to spawn. If you caught one last year, fish the same area with the same techniques you used and you will get them.  :tipup:

Offline BIGD103

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #4 on: Jan 19, 2015, 12:42 PM »
I use hearing. They stink and usually only catch 30in pike or bigger

Offline icechaser

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #5 on: Jan 20, 2015, 08:18 AM »