Author Topic: First Time Ice Fishing For Lake Trout  (Read 2284 times)

Offline CTBrahan

• IceShanty Rookie
First Time Ice Fishing For Lake Trout
« on: Jan 27, 2021, 07:51 PM »
Hello Everybody. I am a new member to the forum but have been reading it for years. Im a Kearsarge Region resident and was curious about ice fishing on Sunapee for lakers. I have fished almost every lake in the area but sunapee and I was wondering what the ice conditions look like and if there is a certain depth/spots that I should try for lakers of any size. I am personally just looking for a good fight on a jigging rod (tired of catching dinky crappie and perch on my home lake) and Im not going to keep any trout that I catch. Also Is there any lures that people might recommend for lakers on sunapee? Tight Lines!

Offline PIKE FISHERMAN

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Precision Angling on YouTube. Maine based fishing!
Re: First Time Ice Fishing For Lake Trout
« Reply #1 on: Jan 27, 2021, 08:18 PM »
50-120 feet of water for Lakers. I set up in an area with access to depths in this range. Don’t be afraid to move if your not marking fish. I try to move If I haven’t marked a fish in 10 minutes. I’ll stay longer of bait is around. Humps in deep water, pinch points, trenches are good places to start. Sometimes they’re hanging on steep drop offs, sometimes on the flats in deeper water. Lakers often travel mod water column, so don’t be afraid to run the entire column once and a while.  As for lures, my go tos are jigging spoons(Swedish Pimples, Cleos, Red Devils), jig heads with soft plastic minnow bodies or a swim bait work awesome! Simple bass tubes also work well. White and chartreuse work well for the soft plastics. I usually put a small piece of cut bait to my set up for scent attractant. Good luck, hope you tie into some.