Author Topic: crappie - perch rod suggestions  (Read 5002 times)

Offline ougot1

• Team IceShanty Regular
crappie - perch rod suggestions
« on: Sep 15, 2019, 02:46 PM »
I am in need of some suggestions on a jigging rod for crappie and yellow perch , I have a 28 '' st croix premier medium power rod that has been used for everything including crappie and yellow perch with 1/8 oz jigging spoons , I just do not know which lighter rods  to look at  . any help appreciated   THANKS

Offline Sierra57

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: crappie - perch rod suggestions
« Reply #1 on: Sep 15, 2019, 09:14 PM »
I've been using Tuned Up Custom Rods for a couple years now and I have zero complaints with them. The Precision Noodle is my go to Crappie and Bluegill rod, they also have a chart that explains their line up here --->  https://tunedupcustomrods.com/uploads/2018/02/TUCR-Rod-Spectrum-and-Ordering-Options-2017-NP-1.pdf

Offline perch chacer

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Sep 15, 2019, 10:14 PM »
For me I use a 24" med action rod with a spring bobber (flat blade type).   I use mostly 1/32 oz jigs.  I can detect the slightest movement and set the hook.

Offline jiggalo

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Another great day to be alive!
« Reply #3 on: Sep 15, 2019, 10:17 PM »
Not sure what your budget is but the Jason Mitchell Dead Meat rods are pretty decent for the money and very sensitive. It all depends what you want to spend but there are many options at a wide range of prices
Every day is a good day it's just some days are better than others

Offline greenbackhunter

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #4 on: Sep 16, 2019, 07:15 AM »
I set up a 36” med haat rod. Perfect for panfish. The action is very soft.

Offline matzilla

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #5 on: Sep 16, 2019, 08:15 AM »
https://www.thornebros.com/collections/ice-rod perch sweatheart or quiver stick

cheaper:
Jason Mitchell MeatStick
Beaver dam glass noodle or Ti tip stick
no8 snitch

Catchin' Fish