Author Topic: Tip down fishing for crappies and circle hook usage.  (Read 11658 times)

Offline dabills

• Team IceShanty Regular
Tip down fishing for crappies and circle hook usage.
« on: Dec 09, 2013, 09:01 PM »
I recently made some tip downs using CrappieGuy's design: http://www.iceshanty.com/ice_fishing/index.php?topic=18760.0. I've never used them before but am excited to try. I want to catch crappie(and perch) and my plan is to use circle hooks. What size should I use? I was looking for quality hooks of the offset variety, and checked out gamakatsu but the smallest they have is an eight. I am planning on tipping with a small minnow (shiner). Also should I add beads? What size? I am thinking a snell knot is the way to go for this type of hook. Any information you might have is welcome. I'm new to the sport and appreciate all the help here, great place.

Offline Van_Cleaver

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Tip down fishing for crappies and circle hook usage.
« Reply #1 on: Dec 10, 2013, 05:32 PM »
I would think a sz. 8 would be fine. I catch lots of crappie on a sz. 8 horizontal jig and fathead combo; mostly fished on a dead stick. Often the same combo goes on a Mr. Jigger which can also be effective; pretty much a tip down.

Offline bart

• Team IceShantyholic
  • I love you, Deb
« Reply #2 on: Dec 10, 2013, 05:36 PM »
I have been using #6 Aberdeen gold hooks, they have been working great.
"Many fish their entire lives without knowing that it is not fish they are after."-Henry David Thoreau
  Keep America Godly...

Offline Ice-D

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Dec 10, 2013, 07:12 PM »
I've never heard of anyone using circle hooks for crappie you'll have to let us know how the work.  I use a drop shot rig with my tip downs usually with a #6 Aberdeen hook.  I tie it with a palomar knot, leave the tail long and use just enough split shot to make the hook stand out perpendicular to the line.