Author Topic: Tip down rigs  (Read 1996 times)

Offline iceice

• Team IceShanty Regular
Tip down rigs
« on: Dec 31, 2012, 07:59 PM »
I have been fishing with T/D's for a few years and used different rigs on them.I find i catch my bigger perch on the large fat head minnows on a #10 tremble.What rigs are you favorite?

Offline Idahogator

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Muckeltonian Society
Re: Tip down rigs
« Reply #1 on: Dec 31, 2012, 11:20 PM »
I've got a few years with T/D's and can't legally use live bait. I often use a #10 or #12 treble with a perch eye, or scaled perch belly with the shiny inner belly lining with the end split off center, so one is longer than the other.
Before rigging the hook, I slide a 3/16" to 1/4" Emerald Green Swarovski Crystal Bead, up the line before direct tying the chosen hook on. I use that bead on any perch rig. Those beads have more facets and shine than any other I've found. Another good dead stick lure is a horizontal Marabou jig in chartreuse, with 1/4" of night crawler or a maggot, pointing up at a 45d. angle, away from the hook. Mainly it's that bead and all those light rays on clear water less than 6'.  One last trick, never drill just one hole for a T/D. 18" away' drill a second hole. I take a 7' rod and approach, carefully, the empty hole and very often pick up several more from the school. When it goes quiet, I bring in the fish on the T/D and reset.
So, now, do you wanta share yours?   

Offline iceice

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 01, 2013, 08:24 AM »