Author Topic: Fishing R.M.N.P. lakes.  (Read 4406 times)

Offline NoLimitSoldier

• IceShanty Rookie
Fishing R.M.N.P. lakes.
« on: Jan 26, 2006, 12:13 PM »
 I am a Saskatchewan resident but have officially adopted Manitoba as my home away from home. You have a beautiful province, it's like a cross between Sask. and B.C. You get the clear lakes, endless maze of creeks,streams and rivers and a diverse and beautiful forest. Amazing province if your a nature lover.
 I spend a portion of my summers in Riding Mountain National Park and am always excited to get back and continue exploring the lakes and rivers in the park and just outside. I find Clear Lake itself very tough to fish but I catch my biggest fish there. There are some HUGE Pike in that gorgeous lake. Good structure and it appears lots of food. I am actually more intrigued by some of the other smaller lakes, Whirlpool and Moon being my favourite so far. These lakes seem loaded with 2-5lb. Pike but seldom anything worth shouting about. The numbers are there though. We caught over 60 Pike in ONE DAY between the 3 of us on each of those lakes. The fish hit non-stop, to the point where your actually pulling the hook away from the smaller fish if you can see them coming.
 Anyways:
 1) Has anyone pulled something decent out of any of the lesser known lakes in the Park?
 2) Is there a decent Perch population in Clear or any other lake?
 3) There is a beautiful little lake off the highway between Clear Lake and Dauphin. It's smaller than a football field and I was told by some locals that it's over 60' deep! Any truth to this?
 Thanks for your insight and take care of your Province. Other than Winnipeg, it's heaven on earth.
 ( This is not a slam on anyone from Winnipeg, just the city itself. It's just a bigger version of Regina with the same crime rate and problems. Reminds me too much of home, the last place I want on vacation.)
Any tosser can catch a little, sissyfin Walleye.