Author Topic: Western UP Changing Ice Conditions..Please respond  (Read 1031 times)

Offline natorious

• Team IceShanty Regular
Western UP Changing Ice Conditions..Please respond
« on: Mar 14, 2010, 09:43 AM »
With the weather we've had in the west UP lately, I'm curious how exactly it changes the ice.   At what point would ice become unfishable?  Are there tell-tale signs to look for which indicates poor late season ice?  Maybe someone could use specific lakes as an example to describe the process??

Any info is appreciated as I'm still relatively new to ice fishing and don't want to end up on shakey ice.  Thanks!

Offline BiG ARN

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Western UP Changing Ice Conditions..Please respond
« Reply #1 on: Mar 14, 2010, 12:00 PM »
normally this time of year on inland lakes the ice will usually get bad by the shore first.    buy a ice spud  and take a poke...if the spud doesnt go through  keep on walking

Offline bigmike7272

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Mar 14, 2010, 07:43 PM »
if it gets real soft and kinda sound hollow get out on your same tracks

Tell me and I'll forget. Show me and I'll remember some of it. Involve me and I will have lifetime knowledge.

-Anomymous

Offline browning13

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Can't get enough of the hardwater
« Reply #3 on: Mar 15, 2010, 06:45 AM »
I can usually tell the ice is soft when it only takes 3 turns to auger through 24" of ice :o I was out fishing yesterday and there was still 12-14" of solid ice, quite a few sleds and quads running around.

Offline Flag UP

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Mar 15, 2010, 11:20 AM »