New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: First NY Trip  (Read 1644 times)

Offline herrup92

• IceShanty Rookie
First NY Trip
« on: Jan 11, 2019, 09:55 AM »
Hello everyone,

As a PA resident, I've never gone ice fishing in New York... But with the lack of cold temps this year it looks like that's going to end.  My girlfriend and I are looking to make a long weekend trip to NY next weekend (1/19-21).  I'm curious if anyone has any suggestions as to where to go.  Mainly just looking for panfish and safe ice.  I appreciate any insight you guys may have.  Thanks!!

Offline JayWirth

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: First NY Trip
« Reply #1 on: Jan 11, 2019, 10:06 AM »
Chenango Co
Everyone has a responsibility to not only tolerate another person's point of view, but also to accept it eagerly as a challenge to your own understanding. And express those challenges in terms of serving other people. Arlo Guthrie

Offline builder

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • don't get drug in
« Reply #2 on: Jan 12, 2019, 07:36 PM »
I’m from Shamokin Pa. I’m up northern ny now till Wednesday. Plenty of ice and panfish up here. Check small water Jefferson and st Lawrence river

Offline jschmitt

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Jan 12, 2019, 07:57 PM »
Depends where you're coming from I guess.  East or west.  I grew up in PA so i'm willing to help but im not sure where you're coming from. 

Offline chuck22

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Jan 13, 2019, 01:44 AM »
I’ll be doing the same thing this year haven’t fished New York since I was 10 years old but haven’t the slightest clue where to start it’s about 4 hr drive up to Oneida for me that’s where I was really hoping to go but I don’t have a machine so I’ll be pulling my flipover is that something that’s doable or do you need to use a machine to get to good fishing

Offline Zern

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #5 on: Jan 13, 2019, 06:24 AM »