Author Topic: Where to Start - New to Eastman  (Read 1295 times)

Offline whitefish

• Team IceShanty Regular
Where to Start - New to Eastman
« on: Mar 13, 2009, 10:24 AM »
Fellow Fisherman and Fisherwomen,

I'm new to the eastman region.  I've spent most of my fishing time in Western Manitoba chasing walleyes on Lake Dauphin and LOTP and trout in the ducks.  I'm looking for a few places to start for walleye and perch for ice fishing.  We have a family cabin on the east side of Lake Winnipeg near Grand Beach, so I wanted to start looking for places close to there.  Not sure if there are any good winter spots on the east side of Lake Winnipeg (Traverse Bay?) or in the area (Lac du Bonnet?).  I have two young ones that love to fish, so I'm looking for spots that are accessable by 4x4. 

I'm also looking for ideas for summer walleye fishing with the kids.  I don't have a boat (yet), so the big lake is out of the question.  I was looking for some good spots for for shoreline lake or river fishing.  I'm really excited to try spots on the Winnipeg River.  Lots of places like this on LOTP.

I'm not limited to the east side of Lake Winnipeg (heard alot about Lake Manitoba), but would like to find spots near the cabin.

Keep your tip up!  ;)

Offline Svengalli

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Where to Start - New to Eastman
« Reply #1 on: Mar 13, 2009, 11:37 AM »
Hello whitefish,

I too have a cabin in that area and I think the fishery there is far overlooked (summer on LW).  Being where you are I would definitely head into the whiteshell up through number 12 I think, along the river to Nutimik lake for ice fishing or further up to Big White, lac du bonnet has some good ice fishing too and all are accessible either by 4x4 or a very short walk.