Author Topic: Lightweight float suit?  (Read 3609 times)

Offline troutcrazy

• Team IceShanty Addict
Lightweight float suit?
« on: Nov 01, 2018, 09:14 PM »
I've been wearing a Striker Climate suit for a few years.  It's pretty great, but it's heavy.  I walk a lot when I ice fish-- sometimes hiking miles on Champlain.  And sometimes I haul a flip-up shelter and a heater.  So really, the climate suit is too hot!

I'd rather have a waterproof shell that doubled as a float suit.  Then I could layer underneath as needed.

Do you know of any lightweight float suits that are good for active fishing?

Thanks

Offline 3300

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Michigan Moderator.Not affiliated with MarCum Tech
Re: Lightweight float suit?
« Reply #1 on: Nov 01, 2018, 09:24 PM »
try it w/o liner.

Offline RyanW

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #2 on: Nov 02, 2018, 12:21 AM »
Have you considered wearing one of those instant-inflate co2 life vest? Then you could wear whatever suit you wanted without the weight of added floatation. I also walk everywhere and I’m considering this option.
“When the fish are biting, it really doesn’t matter what you’re using. When the fish aren’t biting, it really doesn’t matter what you’re using” - Uncle Dave

Offline Gills-only

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • When hell freezes over, I'll ice fish there too!!
« Reply #3 on: Nov 02, 2018, 05:53 AM »
Or unzip vents

Offline 3300

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Michigan Moderator.Not affiliated with MarCum Tech
« Reply #4 on: Nov 02, 2018, 10:11 AM »
the flotation assist is in the shell, not the liner. you can wear what ever layers/base you want if your too hot or it's too heavy if you remove the liner. recommend poly for base just so it won't absorb water.

Offline troutcrazy

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #5 on: Nov 02, 2018, 06:53 PM »