Author Topic: How To Jig For Lakers?  (Read 1535 times)

mooseslayer

How To Jig For Lakers?
« on: Dec 20, 2003, 11:17 PM »
IM A VETERAN TIP UP FISHERMAN BUT NEVER HAD ANY LUCK JIGGING.I MAINLY TARGET BIG LAKERS AND WILD BROOKIES.I KNOW WHAT LURES TO USE BUT STILL NOT HAVING ANY LUCK.IM IN THE RIGHT LOCATION BECAUSE IM GETTING UM ON TIP UPS.ANYONE GOT ANY PARTICULAR JIGGING TECHNIQUES THAT THEY USE TO GET THESE FISH?

Offline Trevor

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
Re:How To Jig For Lakers?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 21, 2003, 09:54 AM »
I like to fish big 1-1/2 or 2 oz airplane jigs or my own hand tied bucktail jigs tipped with a strip of sucker meat.  I drench the hair with scent and drop it down the hole and start pumping aggressively just below the ice.  I swim it in circles with intermittent pauses.  After about 30 secs I drop it down another ten feet and jig aggressively at that level for another half minute.  I keep dropping it down in ten foot increments, fishing at each level until I reach bottom where I'll jig for about five minutes.  I then start working it back up in ten foot increments, again fishing each level until I'm back up to just below the ice.  Keep a close eye on the electronics throughout the entire process.  I usually repeat the whole process twice before moving to a new hole and starting all over.  The beauty is that while you're doing this the tip up or tip ups, depending on your regs, are working for you the whole time.

Lakers will tend to utilize the entire water column so watch for schools of baitfish on the electronics.  Whatever level you see them is a good chance you'll find lakers at that level as well.

By fishing this method while using your tip ups you cover a lot more water, and really improve your odds...

Hope this helps...

Trevor

Offline fishinnut

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
« Reply #2 on: Dec 22, 2003, 10:22 AM »
Try rabbit hare jigs.
God grant me strength to catch a fish
So large that even I