Author Topic: Prep of Perch?  (Read 4465 times)

Offline ovidgsd

• Team IceShanty Regular
Prep of Perch?
« on: Dec 17, 2003, 09:44 AM »
I'm a complete novice on cleaning and cooking Perch.  What little I've done, results in such difficult eating, it is almost not worth it.  I slice off the fins, clean off the scales, and slice them up the belly and clean out the guts.  Then stuff with lemon, thyme, garlic and olive oil and wrap in tin foil and bake.  One time we put them in the coals of a fire, that was fun and enhanced the taste.  The flavors are good, but the eating is pain-staking - few bites without bones.

I'd love to hear your recipes and ideas on the subject........ :'(

While we're on the subject - how about chain pickerel prep suggestions too  ;D
If that dog sets off one more flag............!

grumpymoe

Re:Prep of Perch?
« Reply #1 on: Dec 17, 2003, 09:48 AM »
geez-how long does it take you to clean one fish ::)--i simply slab them first and skin the filet off and cut out the rib cage like most other fish. some anglers think its alot of work but 50-75 perch doesnt take long-regardless of size.i consider each slab one tasty forkfull.i usually dip mine in original shore lunch and deep fry-----yummmmm >:( >:( >:(

Offline eyedoktr

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • keep your pole in the hole
« Reply #2 on: Dec 17, 2003, 09:52 AM »
I agree with moe. I can fillet about 30 perch an hour and that includes set up, clean up and putting the bags in the freezer/fridge. While I do love the skin on, it's so much easier to fillet than scale and gut.
Pete Lewis

Exudedude

« Reply #3 on: Dec 17, 2003, 09:54 AM »
I too fillet them out.. It doesnt take long...  I also like them deep fried, but for a nice change up try this...

Fillet out.

Dry fillets..

Coat with mayo

place in pan, salt and pepper then cover with parmisean cheese.(real stuff not stuff for pizza in a can)

Briol for 7 mins or untill golden brown!!!

Offline Icenutter

• Team IceShanty Maniac