The Dark House Spearing board is sponsored by:

Author Topic: Have you heard of  (Read 3386 times)

Offline podunk

• IceShanty Rookie
Have you heard of
« on: Jan 25, 2009, 08:26 PM »
I have been fishing for perch and the likes. I am fishing for these other fish while waiting for a pike to come in. But latley i have notice that pike dont come into the decoy. in fact they shy away from it. but they will come into a tear drop tip with a minnow. i have talked to other fishermen and they say the same thing. that the pike are not decoying. has anyone heard of this and is that typical or normal for pike to do. do they usualy come into a tear drop. I am new to this pike spearing. i have been out pike spearing many times before but never got one, and i did the normal thing. decoys and sucker minnow, but no pike. but soon as i quit using the decoy and use a tear drop or a dare devel i have speared three pike this season. is there something to this, or is it just me and my luck.
US Marine Infantrymortarman

Offline stephensonswille

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Have you heard of
« Reply #1 on: Jan 26, 2009, 09:57 PM »
this weekend when i went out to the shack to spear i didn't have a single fish smack the decoy. but was having good luck on the tipups where i had a dead sucker instead of a shiner. so i thru one on the decoy line and sure enough that did it i got one that was 28" so i thru a live sucker minnow on and nothing so i pulled it up and killed it dropped it back down there and a little while later another pike came in and swiped it but thats all i could get them to hit. a couple of my buddies that were out there only had luck on DEAD sucker minnows or smelt

Offline rezeye

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #2 on: Jan 27, 2009, 07:36 AM »
I have had the same problem this year absolutely no pike to the decoy but i havent tried dead bait for a decoy will try this weekend thanks for the tip

Offline spearchucker

• Team IceShanty Regular