Author Topic: Novice Rainbow fisherman-Questions  (Read 2200 times)

Offline Kodiak Commando

• Team IceShanty Regular
Novice Rainbow fisherman-Questions
« on: Oct 26, 2004, 12:20 PM »
I am new to ice fishing and have a few questions about catching rainbow trout.

I live in an Kodiak Alaska where there are about 30 lakes most of them no more than 1 sqaure mile and a few around 3. I don't know where to fish these lakes much when they are frozen. There are very few lakes that see ice fisherman or summer fisherman that matter so there are no holes to study. Most of the lakes are between 5 and 12 feet. The only features that are consistant in all of them is rocky drop offs and losts of shallow weed beds. Which is better for rainbows, weeds, dropoffs or neither? I have caught many fish in the summer, including 10 fish over 6 pounds this summer, would the same spots be good in the winter?

I Have also heard from the few fisherman that the fish still move around in the winter, Is this true? IF so is there any way to attract fish from far off ( THe water is very clear, i can usully see to a 12 foot bottom) so i don't have to wait forever? Chumming is not illegal in kodiak but i am open to any other ideas

Offline Spicoli

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • I fish therefore I am.
Re: Novice Rainbow fisherman-Questions
« Reply #1 on: Oct 26, 2004, 12:55 PM »
When i fish for rainbow through the ice i will try and find a deep hole in shallow water because if it is not a very big lake the rainbows will be moving around so if you have an area with 12 feet of water surrounded by 6 feet of water all of the fish will be coming through the deeper area so i usually try to set up on areas like that.

Offline iceintheveins

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • If you won't fight for freedom, your not American!
« Reply #2 on: Oct 26, 2004, 01:11 PM »