Author Topic: I'm new to ice-fishing...  (Read 3652 times)

SNOWMISER

I'm new to ice-fishing...
« on: Dec 28, 2003, 04:30 PM »
my questions are simple to answer I would think...
1. How deep should someone set their hook? Does it depend on what I might be trying to fish for?
2. What live bait works best in winter?
3. What size of sinkers should I use?
4.What about line configuration? Should my sinker be near the hook or say 8 inches away to allow the hook to float more?

Also, any other advice, tips or hints would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.

Offline fishydog

• IceShanty Rookie
Re:I'm new to ice-fishing...
« Reply #1 on: Dec 29, 2003, 11:26 AM »
What kind of fish are you going to be targeting?

Offline NimrodHunting

• IceShanty Rookie
  • Hardwater Nut!
« Reply #2 on: Dec 30, 2003, 02:23 PM »

Howdie SnowMiser,
   Gotta tell ya, I have been icefishing for years, and still a lot of newbies outfish me.
To me Icefishing is more of a social event so I a'int stuck in the house all winter.  Go
out on the ice, find some people fishing, and I bet they will be more than willing to help
you out with the best methods for the local fishing.  Ice anglers are a pretty friendly lot.
 Good luck.
Save  some for seed.
                                    Bob

acsacmboy

« Reply #3 on: Dec 31, 2003, 11:25 AM »
it all depends on where you fish what you are going to fish for and what kind of gear you have. reply with the basic info and i will give you some info that will be helpful.

Offline Pasquatch

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #4 on: Dec 31, 2003, 05:02 PM »
What gear do you own already?

Offline fishingking

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #5 on: Jan 01, 2004, 09:33 PM »