The ice fishing ME board is sponsored by:
Visit Dags visit derby website

Author Topic: West Grand Lake  (Read 2120 times)

Offline Fishingvermont

• IceShanty Rookie
West Grand Lake
« on: Feb 02, 2024, 01:17 PM »
Hey All,
I've been fishing West Grand for 25 years with my college friends but maybe this year we're missing out? We have a camp about 1/3 of a mile from the damn right on the water and I'm half expecting it might be open water or thin ice right now? We usually fish out in from of camp. Can anyone confirm it's not fishable for us and does anyone have a suggestion if anywhere on the lake is fishable if we hop in trucks and drive. Or is there another trout lake nearby we can drive to and catch a few fish? We don't care so much about size and more action is nice. We usually catch salmon and togue (yes, even from Vermont I can call them togue :)
Thanks in advance!

Offline Hellfish

• IceShanty Rookie
Re: West Grand Lake
« Reply #1 on: Feb 06, 2024, 09:33 AM »
I was on West Grand this past weekend just off Kitchen Cove Point and there was about 7-8 inches of solid ice.

Offline Anomaly

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Formerly clamfarmer
« Reply #2 on: Feb 06, 2024, 11:15 AM »
I was on West Grand this past weekend just off Kitchen Cove Point and there was about 7-8 inches of solid ice.
Waht was there for snow cover when yo we're there? Thanks!
"You can’t buy happiness, but you can buy fishing gear and that’s kind of the same thing.” 

Offline Hellfish

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Feb 06, 2024, 12:17 PM »
The lake was covered by about an inch of crusty snow.

Offline Anomaly

• Team IceShantyholic
  • Formerly clamfarmer
« Reply #4 on: Feb 06, 2024, 01:24 PM »
The lake was covered by about an inch of crusty snow.
NICE! Thanks!!! Gonna be spending some time up there!!!
"You can’t buy happiness, but you can buy fishing gear and that’s kind of the same thing.” 

Offline Boglake

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #5 on: Feb 06, 2024, 03:43 PM »