New York Ice Fishing sponsored by

Author Topic: Need some Help- going to NY - black lake  (Read 3246 times)

Offline dRemodeling

• IceShanty Rookie
Need some Help- going to NY - black lake
« on: Dec 12, 2020, 05:34 PM »
Hi guys, My name is Dan, I am new to ice fishing ( this is my 2nd year).

I live near Philadelphia and unfortunately - no Ice here in the last few years. I went to Canada last year and I am hooked,

I am planning a trip and I am looking at no more than 5-6 hours ride from Philly area.

Based on my research : Blake Lake seems a good lake for ice fishing and they have few nice tackle and bait supplies in the area.

My plan is to bring my wife and two boys and in laws and have fun for 3 nights -4  days and rent Airbnb close to the lake.

I will have a 4 person insulated ice fishing shelter, an auger and   I want to use live bait for my flag tip tops and do some jigging /

Here are my questions :

1) Is Christmas week a good week for ice fishing? are they going to have safe ICE on Black Lake ?
2) They are any other location for a great experience within 5-6 hours drive from Philadelphia?

What advise you can give to make this ice fishing trip as memorable as possible?

Thank you.

Offline Dave R

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Need some Help- going to NY - black lake
« Reply #1 on: Dec 12, 2020, 05:51 PM »
I live in Iowa, but you might want to post this on the New York forum.

Offline FingerLaker607

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Dec 12, 2020, 06:21 PM »
I wouldn't be planning a family fishing trip for Christmas time in NY this year. Especially if it involves a 5 hour drive. We haven't had much cold yet.  Hopefully soon!

Offline dRemodeling

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Dec 12, 2020, 06:27 PM »
thanks

Offline hardwater diehard

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
« Reply #4 on: Dec 12, 2020, 06:55 PM »