Author Topic: How to Build Ice Rods from Start to Finish (VIDEO)  (Read 637 times)

Offline jigmaster5

• Team IceShanty Addict
How to Build Ice Rods from Start to Finish (VIDEO)
« on: Feb 03, 2024, 09:25 AM »
Today, I'm walking thru everything you need to build your own ice rods. This might be old hat for some of the pros on here - this is more geared to new builders that don't know where to start. Also, I'm not a professional rod builder & I'm self-taught, so some of the things that I do aren't how professionals will accomplish the same task - this is just how I do it.

Ice rods are 1 of the easiest to build, so once you do a few of them - you're pretty much set to build any kind of rod that you like. When I was starting out, there weren't as many resources online and I had to learn the hard way. Lots of trial + error, some failures. So, I'm hoping this video might inspire a few ppl to try rod building & shorten the learning the curve.

All the tools, equipment, + components are listed in the video description.

If there's anything else that I didn't cover (I had to skip ahead in a few spots otherwise this video would be 2 hrs+ long), let me know.  Ask question, if you're interested.

Check it out if you have some time...

Offline CoryTDF

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • I'm new but I'm awesome! Also, humble.....
Re: How to Build Ice Rods from Start to Finish (VIDEO)
« Reply #1 on: Feb 08, 2024, 02:55 PM »
Great video. I build one rod last year and was super proud of it. Broke it the first day I went out when my snowmobile flipped due to being forced off the road from some crazy guy in a truck. Been looking to make another. What are your go to blanks? I used a MHX for mine last year. 
Who knew iceholes could be so fun!

Offline grizzlyhackle

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Feb 08, 2024, 02:59 PM »
Pretty dang sweet - thanks for posting this!

Offline jigmaster5

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Feb 10, 2024, 09:14 AM »