Author Topic: Camper battery question  (Read 873 times)

Offline MT_mulies

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • "Aim high, Miss High"
Camper battery question
« on: Aug 06, 2018, 11:17 PM »
I couldn't find a good topic to put this question, so admin feel free to move or delete.

Hey guys I'm new to the camper word. Only ever used a tent, but now that I have kids I decided on a camper for now. Anyway, our camper is designed to have two batteries, but runs fine off just 1. My question is: we are getting ready to buy another battery and I thought what if I just bought a solar panel and used it and didn't buy another battery? Good, bad, or buy both? I figured for now just the solar panel will work.

Camper is for snow season and summer season.

Offline FG Steve

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: Camper battery question
« Reply #1 on: Aug 06, 2018, 11:21 PM »
Good, bad, or buy both?

I have towed a camp trailer over 10,000 miles and used it a bunch.  My vote is for both.  It is EZ to drain two batteries, let alone one.  And in the Winter their capacity is diminished some.
 Happiness is a wife who can outfish you.

Offline Mancaveburnett

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Aug 07, 2018, 07:46 AM »
I have been camping with a camper for a long time including going from N.Y. to Wyoming and Montana. Go with a little Honda generator. I thought I would be boondocking a lot at first. After a short period of time I preferred full hook up sites.  Most people think at first camping means getting away from modern conveniences and life but most realize if you go frequently and have kids there is a lot of downtime no matter how active one thinks they are. Enjoy camping it is a great family hobby.

Offline ice dawg

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
  • Tawny-"Ice Pooch"
« Reply #3 on: Aug 07, 2018, 08:57 AM »