Author Topic: Tip up setup  (Read 2375 times)

Offline pdbjr1

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Yeah I'm a redneck, I could ice fish for a living.
Tip up setup
« on: Jan 04, 2009, 05:49 PM »
I fish for mostly pickerel, perch and walleye.  I fish with the same group of guys forever and we all have the same setup.  Tip-up line, leader and hook.  I am wondering if anyone else does something different.  Also what size hooks are you guys using?  I have been ice fishing for a while and am looking for anything anyone does.  IE.  My father will bring a regular pole on the ice, put a spoon on the pole and hook a minnow to it and lots of times he catches one or two nice size pickerels.

Heaven is a Jack and Coke in one hand, a jig pole in the other and being surrounded by the ones that don't mind you do both.

Offline holeinhide

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • have ice will fish!!
Re: Tip up setup
« Reply #1 on: Jan 05, 2009, 08:09 AM »
This is the rig I use for pickerel, pike and musky. It is built on 30 lb floro leader with a 2/0 main hook and a #2 treble stinger. I find that the blade and bead combo adds that extra flash to convince them they just need to eat it. As for the walleye and perch I use just plane floro leader in 6# and a no. 8 hook. I find eyes tend to shy away from the extra flash of a blade and the rig is just too big for perch.

Offline pdbjr1

• Team IceShanty Regular
  • Yeah I'm a redneck, I could ice fish for a living.
« Reply #2 on: Jan 05, 2009, 12:43 PM »
Seems like a good setup and even adds the flash that my father has also.  Maybe I will give it a shot on one of the tipups.

Heaven is a Jack and Coke in one hand, a jig pole in the other and being surrounded by the ones that don't mind you do both.

Offline Sturno

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #3 on: Jan 06, 2009, 10:28 PM »