The ice fishing PA boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: flasher help  (Read 1337 times)

Offline hardwater7

• IceShanty Rookie
flasher help
« on: Jan 26, 2008, 09:09 PM »
I need some help. I got a Marcum flasher and don't know what I am doing. I read the manual but can not find how to interpret the the depth of the water. When I have it set on the 20ft. range, that is measured on the white numbers on the dial. In deeper water going to the 40ft. range I don't know what I am looking at.So if there is anyone could explain this to me I would appricate the help.I guess I should have stayed with old school methods.

Offline Indiana_Lou

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Ice Fishing Rulez!
flasher help
« Reply #1 on: Jan 26, 2008, 09:19 PM »
Hardwater, I just got one too so I'm no expert on it. I think you read the same outside scale but double it. So if your bottom "red" is at 14', your actually in 28' of water. See if that makes sense to you along with the book. You just got to play with it. I love mine and it really helps once you get the hang of it.   Lou

Offline hardwater7

• IceShanty Rookie
flasher help
« Reply #2 on: Jan 27, 2008, 02:47 PM »
Hey thanks Lou. That is what I was hoping for. I was in an area where I knew about what the depth was but it just was not adding up. That makes sense. The only trouble is the thing has not caught any fish yet!!! But it sure does help pass the time.

Offline bigvfb

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Hardwater Nut!
flasher help
« Reply #3 on: Jan 27, 2008, 07:31 PM »
Hardwater, I just got one too so I'm no expert on it. I think you read the same outside scale but double it. So if your bottom "red" is at 14', your actually in 28' of water. See if that makes sense to you along with the book. You just got to play with it. I love mine and it really helps once you get the hang of it.   Lou