Author Topic: electronics - Showdown 5.6?  (Read 997 times)

Offline hockey14

• IceShanty Rookie
electronics - Showdown 5.6?
« on: Feb 27, 2019, 04:09 PM »
Showdown 5.6 or something else ?

Offline adkRoy

• IceShanty Mod Team
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
  • Beware of squirrels playing banjos
Re: electronics - Showdown 5.6?
« Reply #1 on: Feb 27, 2019, 05:07 PM »
watch youtube videos of the different brands of electronics and go with what you like. I've been using a vexilar fl-8 for the last 13 years and have been very happy with it.
New York State Ranger School Alumni 1994[

Offline Chris338378

• Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #2 on: Feb 27, 2019, 05:23 PM »
I have a showdown 5.6 dual beam for the past four years and like it a lot.  It's extremely simple to use and understand, the top of the screen is the top of the water column, the bottom is the bottom of the water column, and anything in between is either your jig or a fish.  Some don't like that it's not a color display but I don't have any complaints about it being "black and white".  The only real drawback is that you can't set it up into a split screen where you can see the entire water column and the part that you're zoomed into but I don't have an issue with that. 

Offline jopes

• Team IceShanty Maniac
« Reply #3 on: Feb 27, 2019, 07:54 PM »
I have had the dual beam showdown for about 8 years now.   Honestly I wish I had sent it back when I got it.   The thing has a great idea just too many issues with it. 

This fall I'll be shopping for a new unit.   Either a lowrance or vexilar will be my next one.
Don

Offline Vine Valley

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Feb 27, 2019, 08:07 PM »
I've owned a Showdown for 5 years. With all the innovations in the last 5 years, my Showdown is now an antique. Before next winter I want to buy something that has GPS. I have a Garmin in my boat and I love it. I recommend whatever you buy, get a unit that includes GPS.

Offline Vine Valley

• Team IceShanty Regular