Author Topic: ice auger problems  (Read 4213 times)

Offline Kfishman53

• IceShanty Rookie
ice auger problems
« on: Feb 17, 2021, 02:39 PM »
i have a strike master mag 2000, engine TC300  the carb on it is a tecumseh, don't think the diaphragm is working not getting gas. engine won't start on it's own only with shot of starting fluid and will only run for a second. can't find a part # for the carb. they make all kinds of aftermarket carbs for tecumseh motors how do i know which one will work? anyone ever replace one on this type of auger before ?

Offline hardwater diehard

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceshantyInsanity
Re: ice auger problems
« Reply #1 on: Feb 17, 2021, 03:04 PM »
should be able to get you going...give them a call

https://www.drockicecenter.com/

This part in particular fails quite often

https://www.drockicecenter.com/640363-fuel-inlet-elbow/

also i would not use starting fluid .
Give a man a fish he eats for a day .Teach a man to ice fish he has an obsession for a lifetime

Offline Light liner

• Team IceShanty Maniac
  • Rather be judged by 12 then carried by 6.
« Reply #2 on: Feb 17, 2021, 03:09 PM »
People still use gas augers??????????
Champlain
Memphremagog

Offline butcher

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #3 on: Feb 17, 2021, 03:14 PM »
I don't have this model of auger but based on your description of how your auger is running, it definitely sounds like the carb is the issue. The other possible issue could be the fuel line from the tank but I strongly suspect it's the carb. You said that when you sprayed starter fluid it starts up but then dies. That means the fuel and/or oxygen is not flowing properly from the tank to the engine but once fuel reaches the pan, it runs. The carb sits between the engine and fuel tank so that's the most likely culprit.