Author Topic: Steel studs  (Read 2722 times)

Offline urlacher4778

• IceShanty Rookie
Steel studs
« on: Jan 30, 2018, 06:14 PM »
Hey all I'm building my first permie got the trailer frame and the drop down figured out and it almost done being fabricated but I would like to get some knowledge as I've never worked with steel studs before so here goes. When looking over them st home depot I noticed that the 2x3 studs which I plan to use feel very flimsy so my question is I plan on putting aluminum on the outside but it doesn't seem like just aluminum would be enough structurally speaking. Do you first sheet the outside with plywood before putting the aluminum on? Or am I just being paranoid?

Offline Drift Dodger

• Team IceShanty Addict
Re: Steel studs
« Reply #1 on: Jan 31, 2018, 10:57 AM »
I've never had anything to do with 2x3 steel studs but had thought they should be quite rigid.

By 'aluminum' do you mean actual aluminum sheeting or rather some type of metal panel/siding such as https://www.metalroofingsource.com/metal-roofing-products/?

Garmin EchoMAP Plus 95sv, Garmin EchoMAP CHIRP 53dv, Garmin GT8HW-IF, Garmin GT10HN-IF, DeWalt DCD999B, K-Drill 7.5"

Offline urlacher4778

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Jan 31, 2018, 07:36 PM »
I've never had anything to do with 2x3 steel studs but had thought they should be quite rigid.

By 'aluminum' do you mean actual aluminum sheeting or rather some type of metal panel/siding such as https://www.metalroofingsource.com/metal-roofing-products/?

Yeah I mean the same aluminum skin that's on most enclosed trailers

Offline jasond37

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • Flag!
« Reply #3 on: Feb 02, 2018, 01:01 PM »