Author Topic: Blackstrap  (Read 52278 times)

Offline whale1979

• Team IceShanty Regular
Blackstrap
« on: Nov 24, 2010, 10:15 PM »
Just wondering where the best place is to fish on Blackstrap at first ice?? I'm new to the lake and just wondering if anyone has any pointers or info. Thx!

Has anyone checked Blackstrap for ice thickness recently?

Offline saskoutdoorsman

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Blackstrap
« Reply #1 on: Nov 24, 2010, 10:19 PM »
I was at the pump house on the north end tonight, and there is 4-5'' of good solid ice.  Didnt bring any gear though, im saving that for the weekend. As for spots, PM me

Offline The Beachcomber

• Team IceShanty Addict
« Reply #2 on: Nov 25, 2010, 10:57 AM »
Try Evans Road near the pumphouse, its an old submerged road where the fish (walleye) like to hang out, some good weed beds and drop offs there also.

There is a sign on Hwy 11 where all the new development is, turn down the road and park at the pumphouse

Good Luck!  take some pics and post em!

Offline whale1979

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Nov 25, 2010, 11:47 AM »
so is evans road south of the causeway?

thx for the info!

Offline whale1979

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #4 on: Nov 25, 2010, 04:04 PM »
im not sure where the dam is?  lol

but i know how to get on the lake on the northend!

Offline AngusMacHuge

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #5 on: Nov 25, 2010, 05:45 PM »
I haven't fished Evans road much in the winter, but have had decent luck in the summer. I'll agree with Tech, the north end seems to be where it's at for the Strap in terms of pike and walleye. That said, if I'm hankering for some reasonable sized perch, I fish south side of the causeway (various locations). Seems the lower numbers predators in the south allows the perch to get a big bigger. Still nothing to brag about, but better than the 4 inchers that plague the north end, those little buggers cost me $5 in meal worms every time I go out there.

Offline tbor