The ice fishing Montana boards are sponsored by:

Author Topic: Echo Lake and Flathead Lake Today  (Read 3775 times)

Offline Quantoson

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • no fish is too big
Echo Lake and Flathead Lake Today
« on: Mar 21, 2009, 07:39 PM »
Fished Flathead from 7am to 2pm.  Caught 9 Macs, 2 cutts and something I never thought was in there, a sturgeon, about 33 inches long.  I was pretty careful with it since it almost took my face off flopping around.  I put it back in the water ever so gently.  Biggest mac was 27".

Echo lake has about 15 to 18 inches of ice, pretty dry for the most part.  1 white fish and a couple of salmon.

wish you many hook-ups

Offline montanafishingr

• Team IceShanty Regular
Re: Echo Lake and Flathead Lake Today
« Reply #1 on: Mar 21, 2009, 08:07 PM »
I knew they had sturgeon in there but my family and I have been fishing Flathead for close to 40 years and none of us have ever caught one. What a trophy. Congrats! Any picts of it? I know I would have had to snap a couple before I put him back.

Offline Quantoson

• Team IceShanty Addict
  • no fish is too big
« Reply #2 on: Mar 22, 2009, 03:44 AM »
Montanafishr, I did not even think about taking a picture,  I was standing in the rocks and was somewhat trying to avoid getting beat up by that fish.  The excitement was awesome when I saw what I had at the end of the line. 

After getting it back in the water, and calming my adrenaline shakes, I took out the regs to see what kind it was.  Fat chance, they all look the same to me.  But it hit a piece of sucker meat on a white 1/2 oz. lead head jig.  Heading back out there very early this morning again.
wish you many hook-ups

Offline montanafishingr

• Team IceShanty Regular
« Reply #3 on: Mar 23, 2009, 02:18 PM »
"The excitement was awesome when I saw what I had at the end of the line."
I can imagine! What a day to remember. Picture or no picture you have one heck of a story to tell. I can picture it in my head.

Offline Neptune