Author Topic: new to lake louise and ice fishing  (Read 5657 times)

Offline dalton

• IceShanty Rookie
new to lake louise and ice fishing
« on: Jan 13, 2009, 02:59 AM »
I am new to ice fishing but since we bought a cabin on lake Louise I decided to take up ice fishing.  I know that most folks can  be a little protective of their honey holes and secret weapons but since I am new anything would help.  here are some basic questions

basic areas for good fishing
how deep
what basic gear and bait (shrimp? herring? etc)
time of day
what kind of action should I expect.  I don't mind being patient and enjoying the experience but should I expect to get hits within a certain time frame or move on
I understand that lakers and burbot are fairly common but what else might I catch?
different baits and gear for different fish

the last time I was out there were in 15-20 feet of water (fow?) and we got a few hits on some herring and shrimp but no fish through the hole.  the bites stopped dead at dark.  we fished for about 3 hours just before dark.

any and all advice and help would be appreciated.  sorry in advance for any ignorant stupid questions.

Dalton

Offline akdube

• Team IceShanty Maniac
Re: new to lake louise and ice fishing
« Reply #1 on: Jan 14, 2009, 04:39 PM »
Hey Dalton we fish louise ALOT and we have good and bad spots and spots that are great certain times of the year. PM me and I'll fill you in. Lots of lake and only certian spots will hold fish year long.

Offline dalton

• IceShanty Rookie
« Reply #2 on: Jan 14, 2009, 06:34 PM »
akdude.

apperently I am complete f%$#@*&ng idiot.  I cannot find the appropriate button to push to send you a pm.  I will send you an email to your address listed in your profile.

thanks

Offline Drifter_016

• Iceshanty Militia
  • Team IceShantyholic
« Reply #3 on: Jan 14, 2009, 07:37 PM »
akdude.